Rotation of Presidency Policy (December 19, 2012)

The Board of Trustees has determined that it is important that the Presidents of SEALS come from as many of the 16 SEALS Institutional Member jurisdictions (states and the District of Columbia), as possible over time. The Institutional member schools shall be grouped in geographical clusters, generally of five or more schools. The faculty member elected from the relevant cluster will serve as President-Elect in the SEALS year that begins at the end of the annual meeting in which he or she is elected.

To effectuate this policy, nominations for President Elect under Section 1 of Article V of the ByLaws shall be solicited from faculty at Institutional Member schools so that the President is a faculty member (as defined in the By-Laws) at an Institutional Member school located in the following jurisdictions on a rotating basis. The presidential rotation, beginning in 2018 (with election for President-Elect beginning in 2017), appears below.

Mississippi–Louisiana (2018); Texas (2019); Tennessee–Kentucky (2020); Virginia–West Virginia (2021); Georgia–Alabama (2022); Florida (2023); North Carolina–South Carolina (2024); Arkansas–Missouri (2025); Maryland–District of Columbia (2026)